Monte Carza

Monte Carza is the last member of the mountain chain that surrounds the Cannobina Valley. The two small islands that host the castles of Cannero are its last breath before sinking into the Maggiore lake, and prove the importance of this mountain during the past centuries.

Route

Cannero Riviera - Cheglio - Monte Carza - Pra Rotondo - Solivi - Carmine Superiore - Cannero Riviera

Data sheet

Region: Verbano
Altitude: 1116 m
Ascent: 902 m
Length: 18 km
Time: 2.5 - 4 hours
Unrideable time: 0 - 5 minutes
Season: April - November
Skills: 3
Strength: 3
GPS Data: download
Map: show

Map

Watch the diatour

Monte Carza

Date: 26 August 2010

Description

This tour begins in Cannero-Riviera, following the scenic road that climbs to Trarego-Viggiona. The climb is steep but constant, always around 9%. After 6 kilometers you will reach Cheglio (796 m), where you'll have to turn right, following the signs to Piancavallo. The road enters the woods and becomes narrow and twisty, with the slope still beeing around 10%.

Gravel Road to Monte Carza

After getting out of the woods, there is a short level section, where you'll meet a bifurcation. Follow the gravel road on the right, and when you'll get to the next bifurcation head left. After a somehow softer climb you should get to the pass (1100 m), where you'll meet the single-track that heads down to Cannobio.

Monte Carza

Before starting the descent it's worth visiting the summit of Monte Carza. You can quickly reach it by following the trail on the right, which is almost completely rideable. On the summit there is a nice view over the center and southern part of the Maggiore Lake, and over Luino and the Travaglia Valley that lie on the other side of the lake.

Downhill toward Pra Rotondo

The descent is on the northern side of the mountain. After getting back to the pass, you'll have to take the single-track following the sign to Pra Rotondo. The path is rough, but almost completely rideable, and leads to the pastures of Pra Rotondo (900 m), then it gets into a thicker wood of beech.

Downhill in the woods towards Cannobio

Fast and smooth trails alternate with very steep and rough sections, and will lead you to another pasture (650 m), where you will meet a gravel road that you'll have to follow downwards. When you'll reach an hairpin turn close to Solivi (390 m), you'll have to follow another small road that heads right. Many ups and downs will take you to Molineggi and to the small village of Carmine Superiore.
The trail will then head down toward the lake, but you can leave it and take the single-track to Cannero, which will present a short climb and then a nice descent that ends close to the village.

Share this page:

Latest posts:

Alpe di Trecciura

Video

One of the best trails in Ticino!

Lago Mognola

Video

The descend from Mognola Lake along an old stone aqueduct!

Corsgèla

Video

Corsgèla, the discovery of a hidden world!

Cima della Trosa

Video

Cima della Trosa, the most scenic descent over Locarno!

Subscribe to my Youtube page
or follow me on Facebook
©Alfio Cerini 2003-2015 - Disclaimer

Monte Carza

Monte Carza ist das letzte Glied der Bergkette, die das Cannobina Tal umgibt. Die kleinen Inseln, die die Schlösser von Cannero aufnehmen, sind seine letzten Atemzug vor dem Untergang in dem Lago Maggiore, und bezeugen die wichtig dieses Berges in den vergangenen Jahrhunderten.

Die Etappen

Cannero Riviera - Cheglio - Monte Carza - Pra Rotondo - Solivi - Carmine Superiore - Cannero Riviera

Datenblatt

Region: Verbano
Höhe: 1116 m
Höhenunterschied: 902 m
Distanz: 18 km
Fahrzeit: 2.5 - 4 Stunden
Nicht fahrbar: 0 - 5 Minuten
Jahreszeit: April - November
Fahrtechnik: 3
Kondition: 3
GPS-Daten: herunterladen
Karte: zeigen

Karte

Fototagebuch dieser Tour

Monte Carza

Datum: 26 August 2010

Beschreibung

Diese Tour beginnt in Cannero Riviera. Wir folgen die malerische Strasse, die nach Trarego-Viggiona klettert. Die Neigung der Strasse bleibt immer bei 9%. Nach 6 Kilometern erreichen wir Cheglio (796 m), wo wir rechts abbiegen müssen, den Schildern nach Piancavallo folgend. Die Strasse wird enger und kurviger und sie führt in den Wald hinein. Die Steigung bliebt bei 10%.

Schoztterstrasse nach Monte Carza

Nachdem wir aus dem Wald treten, treffen wir eine Abzweigung. Wir folgen die Schotterstrasse auf der rechten Seite bis eine weiter Abzweigung, wo wir links fahren. Nach einem weniger steilen Aufstieg gelangen wir zum Pass (1100 m), wo der Single-Trail nach Cannobio startet.

Monte Carza

Vor der Abfahrt lohnt es sich, die Gipfel des Monte Carza zu besichtigen. Sie ist schnell erreichbar, indem man den Pfad nach rechts folgt, und sie bietet eine schöne Aussicht über dem Lago Maggiore, Luino und dem Travagliatal, die auf der anderen Seite des Sees liegt.

Abfahrt nach Pra Rotondo

Die Abfahrt erfolgt auf der Nordseite des Berges. Wir kehren zum PAss zurück und folgen die Schildern nach Pra Rotondo. Der Weg ist schwierig, aber fast vollständig befahrbar und führt zu die Weide von Pra Rotondo (900 m), dann wirschwindet er im Buchewald.

Abfahrt im Wald nach Cannobio

Der Pfad ist zum Teil schnell und flüssige Pfade, aber zum Teil steil und holprig, und er führt uns zu einer anderen Weide (650 m), wo Sie eine Schotterstrasse treffen, die wir nach unten folgen müssen. In der Nähe von Solivi (390 m) wir erreichen eine Haarnadelkurve, wo wir eine weitere kleine Strasse nehmen, die rechts abbiegt. Nach einige Auf und Ab wir gelangen zu Molineggi und zum kleinen Dorf von Carmine Superiore. Der Weg führt dann nach unten in Richtung See, aber wir verlassen es um den Single-Trail nach Cannero zu folgen, der einen kurzen Anstieg und einen schönen Abfahrt in der Nähe des Dorfes endet.

Neuigkeiten:

Dunzio

Video

Die farbige Überquerung von Vallemaggia zu Tegna!

Alpe di Trecciura

Video

Eine der schönsten Abfahrten im Tessin!

Lago Mognola

Video

Die Abfahrt von Mognola See entlang eines alten Wasserwerks!

Corsgèla

Video

Corsgèla, Entdeckung einer verborgenen Welt!