Buyers guide

Full or front? 26 or 29 inch? Tubes o tubeless? The questions are old, but they finally found an answer... actually, more than one...

The frame: front or full?

Aside from the racing world, nowadays the fullies are preferable on most conditions. The hardtails, however, still have a major advantage: at a comparable quality level, they offer a much lower price. If you are tight on your budget, you should consider investing in a good quality hardtail rather than a medriocre fully. Another very important aspect for the riders wanting to get into extreme biking is the fact that the hardtails are usually way more suitable to be carried on the shoulder!

a front suspended bike and a fully on Monte Carza

The wheels: 26 or 29 inch?

29ers are tanks, and they can overcome hurdles easier. 26ers are more agile and nervous, and they feels more confortable on very technical trails. Choose basing on your driving style. And if you have no clue, there are 27.5ers, which are a good compromise...

Tyres: tubes or tubeless?

Tubeless tyres are a cool invention. The only problem is that repair can be more complicated. When you are travelling in lonely and impervious regions, you might choose old tires with inner tubes.
If you have tubeless tires you should carry a spare tube than you can insert into the tire in case you won't be able to fix it.

repair of a puncture

Brakes: discs or V-brakes?

There are many arguments for one or the other type (weight, power, sensitivity, noise, cost, maintenance, wear), but the differences are not so big. V-brakes are cheaper and less complicated, but they behave well under most conditions, beside snow and deep mud... Before deciding what brakes you want to get, you should first think of where you're going to ride your bike the most. And remember it's always better to get a high quality v-brake than a low quality mechanical disc brake!

Pedals: flat or SPD?

The eternal doubt between regular and clipless pedals has found an intelligent answer: the double-sided pedals. When you go uphill you can fasten them, but when facing the most dangerous trails you can rotate them and use them like regular pedals. Another plus is that you can use them with MTB shoes as well as with mountain boots.
The only problem with double-sided pedals is that they've got two sides... you never find the right side at the first try!

carrying the MTB on Monte Zeda

The cables: above or below?

In some frames the rear brakes and derailleur cables are located under the top tube. That isn't going to upset nobody at first sight, but try to carry a bike with such a frame. Your collarbone will soon turn into a cableguide... The position of the cables is also another detail that extreme MTBikers have to consider when buying a new bicycle!

Latest updates:

Dunzio

Video

The colorful crossing from Maggia Valley to Tegna!

Alpe di Trecciura

Video

One of the best trails in Ticino!

Lago Mognola

Video

The descend from Mognola Lake along an old stone aqueduct!

Corsgèla

Video

Corsgèla, the discovery of a hidden world!

Einkaufsführer

Full oder front? 26 oder 29 Zoll? Luftschlauch oder Tubeless? Der Kauf eines Mountainbikes ist mit Zweifeln gepackt...

Der Rahmen: Front oder Full?

Abgesehen von Rennsportwelt, heutzutage sind die Fullies fast bei allen Bedingungen vorzuziehen. Die Hardtails haben jedoch noch einen grossen Vorteil: bei vergleichbarem Qualitätsniveau, sie bieten einen viel niedrigeren Preis. Wenn Ihr Budget knapp ist, Sie sollten abwägen, ob es sich besser lohnt auf einer guten Hardtail statt einer mässigen Fully zu investieren. Ein weiterer sehr wichtiger Aspekt für die Biker, die extreme Radtouren unternehmen möchten, ist die Tatsache, dass die Hardtails sind in der Regel viel mehr geeignet, um auf der Schulter getragen zu werden.

Hardtail und Fully auf monte Carza

Die Räder: 26 oder 29 Zoll?

29ers sind Panzer, und sie können alle mögliche Hindernisse überwinden. 26ers sind agiler und nervös, und sie sind für technischen Trails mehr geeignet. Die Wahl soll auf Ihren Fahrstil basiert sein. Und wenn Sie keine Ahnung haben, es gibt 27.5ers, die ein guter Kompromiss sind...

Reifen: Luftschlauch oder Tubeless?

Tubeless-Reifen sind eine coole Erfindung. Das einziges Problem ist, dass die Reparatur schwierig sein kann. Wenn Sie in abgeschiedene und unzugängliche Regionen unterwegs sind, die alte Reifen mit Schlauch konnten noch eine gute Wahl sein.
Wenn Sie Tubeless Reifen haben, Sie sollten einen Ersatzschlauch mitbringen. Im Fall von Probleme Sie können ihn im Reifen einfügen, wenn Sie nicht in der Lage sind, ihn zu reparieren.

Reparatur einer Reifenpanne

Bremsen: Scheiben oder V-Brakes?

Es gibt viele Gründe für eine oder andere Lösung (Gewicht, Leistung, Empfindlichkeit, Lärm, Preis, Wartung, Verschleiss), die Unterschiede sind aber nicht so gross. V-Bremsen sind billiger und weniger kompliziert, aber sie sind gut unter den meisten Bedingungen, abgesehen von Schnee und tiefen Schlamm... Basieren Sie Ihre Wahl auf Ihren bevorzugten Geländen. Und berücksichtigen Sie, dass eine hochwertiges V-Brake immer besser als eine minderwertige Scheibenbremse ist!

Pedale: flach oder SPD?

Der ewige Zweifel zwischen flache Pedalen und Klickpedalen hat eine intelligente Lösung gefunden: die doppelseitige Pedale. Wenn Sie bergauf gehen, können Sie die Pedale befestigen, aber wenn Sie gefährliche Strecken fahren, können Sie die flache Seite benützen. Und Sie können diese Pedale auch mit Bergschuhen benützen
Das einzige Problem mit doppelseitigen Pedale ist, dass sie zwei Seiten haben... die rightige Seite wird immer unten sein!

MTB tragen auf Monte Zeda

Die Kabel: oben uder unten?

In einige Rahmen die Bremsen- und Schaltzüge werden unter dem Oberrohr geführt. Auf den ersten Blick das ist kein Problem, die Probleme starten aber, wenn man versuch, dieses Fahrräder auf den Schultern zu tragen. Das Schlüsselbein wird bald in einer Kabelführung umgewandelt... Die Lage der Kabel am Rahmen ist auch ein Detail, dass extreme Bikers beim Kauf eines neuen Fahrrades überprüfen müssen!

Neuigkeiten:

Dunzio

Video

Die farbige Überquerung von Vallemaggia zu Tegna!

Alpe di Trecciura

Video

Eine der schönsten Abfahrten im Tessin!

Lago Mognola

Video

Die Abfahrt von Mognola See entlang eines alten Wasserwerks!

Corsgèla

Video

Corsgèla, Entdeckung einer verborgenen Welt!